First Universities of the Third Age in Slovakia have come into existence since 1990. First of them was established by UTA at Comenius University in Bratislava and immediately many others followed the educational activities for senior citizens in the Slovak republic. Actually there are 7200 senior students out of 1 milion pensioners in whole Slovakia.

The Association of Universities of the Third Age (ASUTV) of Slovakia was established as an initiative of Slovak universities and other institution of high education at a founding conference held at the Košice Technical University on 1st December 1994. Representatives of individual Slovak UTAs meet regularly, exchange information and consult organizational, financing and educational – methodical matters involving UTAs. Common professional sittings indicate the presence of rich activities of UTAs in the whole country. Today, apart from UTA at Comenius University and the Slovak Technical University in Bratislava. UTAs exist in Nitra, Martin, Banská Bystrica, Zvolen, Košice, Trenčín, Trnava, Žilina, Liptovský Mikuláš, Prešov, Dubnica nad Váhom and Ružomberok.

ASUTV is a member of the International Association of Universities of the Third Age (AIUTA), which has the seat at University in Toulouse:

Study system of Slovak UTAs:
The UTAs offer a three-year program. The study system of the UTAs is adjusted both to the capabilities of the aged and to the possibilities of their main universities. The study plan of each year usually provides 14 three-hour lectures to be presented each fortnight. During their first year, the students are offered basic lectures in each of the offered discipline. The second and third year is devoted to the study of optional disciplines and students enrol in the study of specialised branches.